7 Quick Takes Volume 19

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

–1–

This morning when I looked at the scripture readings for today, this verse jumped out at me:

“If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.” –2 Corinthians 11:30

OK, here goes:

I’m an introvert who has learned to pretend I’m not, although sometimes I just don’t feel like socializing and then I feel bad because what if they think I’m just being a snob?  Usually I love being with people but sometimes I don’t.  I’m also afraid to leave my comfort zone because of what it might look like if I mess up.  I’m learning to trust God but sometimes it’s REALLY HARD.

–2–

Last night I played softball again with Ray’s team.  I struck out at least once, and when I did hit the ball it wasn’t far enough for me to make it to first base.  I walked once, and then almost got picked off third because I tried to run for home when I should have stayed put.  When the ball came at me I couldn’t get it fast enough, threw it like a wimpy girl, and fell sprawling onto the grass trying to make a catch.  I found myself having flashbacks of middle school phys ed class when I couldn’t play worth a hoot (still can’t) and the perception–whether real or imagined, I’m not sure which–that my teammates were mad at me every time I screwed up.

Now it’s different.  Some of us play well, some of us aren’t as good, but everyone is having a great time.  All I hear are words of encouragement.  It was hot and humid but I felt great.  There is one more game left, and I can’t wait to play again.

–3–

My nephews and my niece are adorable, aren’t they?

IMG_0040 IMG_0043 IMG_0054 IMG_0057 IMG_0059

I wish I could see them more often.

–4–

Over Easter break I finally joined Instagram.  I’m hooked.

Here’s my page; follow me!

–5–

Cari Donaldson used to feature a weekly linkup on her blog called “Theme Thursday,” where you were given a word or phrase and you’d post a photo on your blog related to that theme and link it to hers. (OH, Speaking of Cari, her book is great.  I could hardly put it down.  I’ll tell you about it in another post.) She hasn’t had Theme Thursday on her blog for a while, and I miss it; but a couple of weeks ago I started noticing the hashtag #projectblessed on Instagram.  After a little digging I found the Blessed is She blog.  On their Instagram page, they post prompts for every day of the week.  Take a photo related to that theme, boom.  Every day.  I love it.  Kinda feels like I’m sharing a little blog post every day.

(They also have a great daily devotion.  Check it out.)

–6–

I’ve recently started listening to podcasts, something I almost never did before.  It makes daily chores and long runs more enjoyable.  Here’s a rundown of some of my favorites:

Catholic Connection

The Break and The Walk, two of Father Roderick’s podcasts

Another Mother Runner

The Running Lifestyle Podcast

The Catholics Next Door

PodCacher (for my geocaching fix)

20150527_193007

My newest friend Tamara and I got to meet Dimity McDowell from the “Another Mother Runner” podcast.

–7–

I can’t leave without telling you about my half marathon “fail” that wasn’t really a fail because even though it made me feel like crap I finished and it was awesome.

My goal for this year’s Marine Corps Historic Half was to try and run it faster than Sean Astin.  Two years ago the Lord of the Rings actor ran the race in 2:11:58 and I thought it would be cool to know that I was faster than a fat Hobbit, as my friend Janel likes to put it (she and my friend Sue both beat him the day he ran it).  I finished the Air Force Half in 2:19:12 last September, and I felt it was doable, especially since I had run a 9:55 pace in the J. Brian’s Taproom 15K the month before.  In order to beat Sam Gamgee I needed to maintain a pace of 10:07.  I knew it wouldn’t be easy but I was up for the challenge.

To make a long story short, the day was hot and humid.  I took advantage of most of the water stops and even indulged in some Gatorade at some of them.  The first 6 or 7 miles felt good, but pretty soon I was beginning to wonder why on earth I had signed up for this $#%& race.  I had my GPS tracker turned off (I normally run with MapMyRun but when I race I don’t use it because it’s a distraction) so I had no idea what my pace was.  At the top of the notorious “Hospital Hill,” one of the many Marines stationed along the course shouted that the time was 2:03-something, and that’s when I knew I wouldn’t make my goal time because there was no way I could run the last two miles in eight minutes.  I was pretty sure I wouldn’t PR, either.

CowanHillByKatieS

Nearing the top of Cowan Hill, just over a mile from the finish, I spotted my new friend Katie with her little boy, and she snapped this photo.  I was feeling miserable and was very happy to see them.  (I don’t know who the lady on my left is.  Her face pretty much sums up how I felt.)

Ray met me near the finish line and ran the last half mile or so with me, and when he asked me how I was doing I growled at him.  At the finish line there were people handing out goody bags with all kinds of yummy post-race snacks and I muttered a “no thanks” when they offered me one.  All I wanted was some water and a soda and a shower and a nap.

My official time was 2:24:07, faster than last year’s race (and only two seconds faster than my time in the Hokie Half last fall, which I thought was pretty funny).  But I got a pretty cool race T-shirt and a sweet medal.  Maybe I can beat Sean next year.

Have a great weekend, and be sure to visit This Ain’t the Lyceum for more Quick Takes!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

