Blessed Am I

Monday, 7 pm

I changed into shorts and a tech shirt an hour or so ago while I waited for Joe to come home from work.  (I’m about ready to drop the Three Stooges act and call my family by their real names.  My husband goes by Ray.)  He’s started playing softball with some of his co-workers, and they had a game scheduled for tonight.  They don’t have enough women on the team, so I’m happy to join him from time to time as an honorary member.  (Truth be told, I’ve only done so once, and it was the first time I’d played softball since high school.)  As soon as he walked in the door the thunder and rain started.  No softball tonight, needless to say, so I guess this is a good time for a blog update.

Larry (His real name is Matthew.  He likes to be called Matt) has officially graduated from high school.  This past weekend our house was full of the sounds of laughter, people bounding up and down the stairs, doors opening and closing, music, and “Curious George” running continuously on Netflix.  Moe (aka Nicholas, or Nick, as he prefers) graduated from eighth grade, and is starting high school in the fall.

IMG_0024

IMG_0027a

Nick, Matt, Ray, Chris–aka Curly–and their cousin “Bopper.”  (I got a new camera which is slightly different from my old one.  I’m still figuring it out.)

IMG_0006

Nick and some of his pals, all heading to different high schools.

Tuesday, 5:00 am

I signed up for the Richmond Marathon.  I’m following a training plan based on Jeff Galloway‘s method.   I have a coach, Sarah, who is helping me with it.  She helped me train for the Star 10K, the smallest of the races in the Blue Ridge Marathon series.  (That may well be my favorite race I’ve done since I’ve started running.  People ask me all the time which races are on my bucket list, and I’ve never had a specific one.  Now I can say it has to be the Blue Ridge Marathon.  After I run Richmond I’ll let you know if I still want to do it.)

20150418_074506

Mile 1, a view of Mill Mountain.  The 10K is flat for the first mile, then 2 miles to the top, 2 miles to the bottom, and a flat mile to the finish.  Next year I hope to do the half, and eventually–maybe–the full.

20150418_082045

Lots of people stopped to take photos here.

20150418_081956

Roanoke, VA, as seen from the top.

race_976_photo_16418044a

One of the official photos from the race.  As you can tell, I had a great time and I can hardly wait to run the half next year.

Tuesday, 8:45 am

Already this has the potential to become a very long post.  If I don’t stop now I’ll be here all day, and it will seem to you like I’m rambling.  I’ll check in here again in the next few days and tell you more about the wonderful things we’re celebrating here, starting with more photos from our graduation celebration; pictures of my nephews and my niece (who grow cuter every time I see them), my new love for Instagram and listening to podcasts, TV shows we’re watching and books I’m reading, and of course more of my running adventures.

Blessed am I.  I can’t wait to tell you more about it.

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

