And Now It’s Lent…

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

–1–

…and once again I’m blogging after a longish hiatus.  One of the things I’m trying to do this Lent is to double down on my New Years’ resolutions, one of which (believe it or not) is to blog more–assuming I have enough interesting things to blog about.  I’ve set aside Mondays as my blogging day, and we’ll see how it goes.  I started this post on Thursday because my regular Thursday night Bible study (which I hope to tell you about sometime) was cancelled because of Ash Wednesday, and the study leader didn’t want to ask us come to church two nights in a row.  (I didn’t make it to Mass on Wednesday anyway so it wouldn’t matter in my case).  Plus we haven’t had school most of this week because of cold and snow and I’ve had a little bit more time.  Perhaps I’ll be back again on Monday.

–2–

LIFE Runners News:  On Wednesday the National LIFE Runners Team kicked off their third(?) annual A-Cross America Relay, running and walking 5,564 miles over the next 40 days.  (The relay coincides with the Spring 40 Days for Life campaign, which are always held between Ash Wednesday and Palm Sunday.)   Some people raise money for LIFE Runners’ national beneficiary, the Vitae Foundation and/or their local pregnancy center.  Others put on their LIFE Runners gear and run purely for joy and to raise awareness for the preciousness of all human life.  If you want to see if there is a relay leg near you, or you’d like to sign up to participate, click here!

IMG_20140311_161455_565

(With some LIFE Runners peeps during last year’s relay.  We ran a 5K leg from the U.S. Supreme Court down the National Mall to the Lincoln Memorial.  I don’t run with that ugly fanny pack anymore, by the way!)

–3–

Speaking of 40 Days for Life, I’m hoping to take one afternoon this Lent and spend an hour in prayer in front of the Planned Parenthood in Richmond.  It will take some planning on my part, but I did manage to get down there once last fall, so it’s doable.  With the many events on our schedule this spring I only have a few days that I could do it.  Does anyone want to participate with me?

–4–

The March for Life this year was amazing as always.  It’s always energizing to gather with so many thousands of pro-lifers in support of the unborn!  This year I took the bus to the March with a group from my parish church.  On the way I talked to several people about LIFE Runners (yes, I’m shamelessly trying to recruit as many members as I can!), and the gentleman next to me on the bus seemed quite interested.  He and I ended up spending the entire day together.  When we arrived at the Mall and I started looking around for the big blue LIFE Runners banner he helped me find it, and then he seemed quite happy to march with the LIFE Runners most of the way.  When the group stopped to do an interview with EWTN we continued on our way to the Supreme Court.  It’s wonderful to be a part of such an amazing pro-life team!

20150122_132102

–5–

So, what am I doing this Lent?  Well, for one thing, I’m training for the Anthem Star 10K in April (sometimes referred to as the Blue Ridge 10K).  I applaud and admire everyone who runs the marathon (they call it “America’s toughest road marathon”), and even the half marathon–which I was thinking of trying but I decided to start small and run up and down one mountain instead of two.  Thursday was hill training day, and I spent an hour walking about four miles, back and forth up and over the same longish hill.  It was freezing cold, but it was a beautiful walk.  (And I listened to Greg Willits’ new Way of the Cross audio recording, which is very moving and a wonderful Lenten meditation.)

20150219_145539

(My view from the bottom of the hill)

I’m also trying to separate myself from my smartphone, which so far hasn’t gone as well as I hoped.  My plan is to keep it put away between 6 and 9 pm every night, and really limit my use of social media.  And I’m restricting my almost-nightly glass of wine to Fridays and Saturdays.  I might even skip it on those days too.

–6–

We’re celebrating two events in our family this Lent–Moe’s confirmation and my dad’s 80th birthday!  All right, I’ll admit it–this is one reason I’m reluctant to give up wine altogether.  So sue me.  My dad’s birthday celebration will probably be alcohol-free, but Moe’s confirmation party most definitely will not.

–7–

And meanwhile, Christians are getting beheaded and burned alive by Islamic terrorists.  This article puts all that in perspective.  Let’s all pray for peace.

For more Quick Takes, visit Kelly at This Ain’t the Lyceum.  Have a wonderful weekend!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

