7 Quick Takes Volume 16 (and BBQ for Theme Thursday)

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

Our faith community lost two beautiful souls this week, and much too soon.  Sarah was a young mom who was expecting her fifth child.  She was out in her backyard when she was stung by bees, had an allergic reaction, was rushed to the hospital, and now her husband and four children have had to say goodbye to her and their baby sister they never got to meet.  I did not know Sarah personally, but I have met her and have seen the family in church frequently.  I bought a couple of the beautiful clay rosaries she made as confirmation gifts, and a necklace for my mother on her birthday.  I only wish I had bought one for myself at the time.

Memebers of Sarah’s family have set up a fund to help her children in their loss; please click here and consider making a small donation.  You can also read more about Sarah here and here.

–2–

I’ve been in somewhat of a cooking slump lately.  That isn’t to say I haven’t been cooking, but for some reason I haven’t been quite as eager to try new recipes, and there have been many nights when I’ve resorted to digging through my freezer and my cabinets to see what kind of concoction I can come up with using the stuff that I have sitting around.  I suppose that isn’t so bad; last Sunday for dinner I chopped up some leftover Italian sausages and mixed them into scrambled eggs, and it was pretty good.  (OH, and the other night I decided to make this eggplant parmesan, and it was delicious.)

I have tried a few new recipes this summer, though.  Joe really likes scallops, so for Father’s Day I found this super easy recipe for grilled scallops wrapped in prosciutto.  We fired up the BBQ and had a easy and delicious dinner.

IMG_6937

IMG_6938a

–3–

I still have my subscription to Fine Cooking. I haven’t tried anything from the most recent issue, but the previous one had a recipe in the “Make It Tonight” section for spicy cod with polenta.

IMG_6936

 (Normally I would type up the recipe for you, but wouldn’t you know I misplaced the magazine it was in.  Can’t find it anywhere.  Luckily it’s online now, and here it is!)

The fish market at Wegman’s didn’t have any cod that day, so I used tilapia instead.  (I know; some people say you shouldn’t buy tilapia for various environmental and health reasons; but hey, it’s inexpensive and it tastes good.  Heck, I’ve even been known to buy conventional factory-farmed meat from time to time, especially when I’m cooking for a crowd.  So sue me.)   The recipe also calls for harissa paste–AS IF I’M SUPPOSED TO KNOW WHAT THAT IS.  After a little bit of Internet googling, I found out that it’s a middle-eastern chili paste that’s nearly impossible to find, that it’s extremely spicy, and if you’re like most Americans and don’t have any, you can use hot sauce.  Perfect.

IMG_6934

The boys had a couple of friends over that night, and I made enough for them as well–did I tell you that tilapia is quite inexpensive?–and guess what?  Everyone loved it.  And if you can make a bunch of teenage boys happy with fish, it must be good!  I made it again this week, too (with tilapia), and it was just as yummy. (Oh, and by the way, I never knew how easy it is to make polenta, either!)

–4–

BILLY JOEL IN CONCERT.

20140726_210425

OH. MY. GAWSH.

–5–

On the morning of the Billy Joel concert my friend texted me this:

Did you know special guest Gavin DeGraw tonight

WHAAATTT???

20140726_200047

I couldn’t believe my good fortune.  I’d seen Gavin twice already (I blogged a little bit about those concerts here and here), and both of those shows were great.  Getting to see him open for Billy Joel was a fun addition to an already great night.

–6–

The first time I saw Gavin DeGraw, Colbie Caillat was there too.  She was amazing.  I’m sure you’ve heard her new song “Try” by now, and seen the video, but I’m sharing it anyway:

I love her.

–7–

I’ll leave you with a stupid joke that came right out of my very own brain (ahem):

 What do you call watching all nine episodes of Sherlock pretty much in an endless loop on Netflix?

A Cumberbinge.

Badaboom.

Have a great weekend, and don’t forget to tip your server.

And please visit Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes…AND Clan Donaldson for her 7 Quick Takes/Theme Thursday mashup!  Click on the link in Take #2 for the linkup.  Peace!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

