Mountains and Trails: Theme Thursday (New England, Days 2 and 3)

Smuggler’s Notch is a ski resort in the winter, and a fun family getaway in the summer. (Dang, I sound like a commercial.)  On Monday–you can read about Day 1, Sunday, here–Larry wanted to spend the day with other teens his age, and he joined a camp that took him hiking, had him playing games, tackling a ropes course, and generally socializing. (He wished we could have stayed the whole week.  There was canoeing and kayaking and rock climbing and all kinds of other fun stuff scheduled for the next several days.) The rest of us headed out early in the morning to climb the highest peak at Smuggler’s Notch.  We followed the winter ski trails for about 2 1/2 miles STRAIGHT UP to the top.  The spectacular views were worth the effort!

IMG_6955

IMG_6959a

IMG_6969

IMG_6963

(The descent was harder than the climb, to tell you the truth.  My knees and my toes were objecting loudly by the time we reached the bottom.)

IMG_6972

After lunch and a nap, I decided to drive up and down the main road and try and find some more geocaches.  I ended up finding five (and according to my stats on Geocaching.com, that’s the most I’ve ever found in one day), including the one under the covered bridge that I had searched in vain for on Sunday.

IMG_20140623_132341_182

For dinner we drove into Jeffersonville and had a DELICIOUS meal at a place called The Family Table.  During dinner we had a conversation about possibly coming here to ski someday, and about whether or not we’d ever been to a ski resort during the summer, and that once or twice Moe had been to Massanutten to the water park.  Our waitress asked “Are you from Virginia?” Turns out she was originally from Charlottesville.  Small world.

Tuesday dawned a little cloudy, and we quickly packed up our stuff, wolfed down some pop tarts (which we have ONLY when we’re on vacation), and headed West toward New Hampshire and Maine.  The highlight of that day was driving to the top of Mount Washington.

IMG_6975

IMG_6978

IMG_6973

(Yes, we have the big ol’ sticker now that says, “THIS CAR CLIMBED MT. WASHINGTON.”  I haven’t decided yet whether or not to actually put it on the car.)

Curly said that next time, he’s going to hike to the top.  I’ll gladly join him.  And did you know they have a foot race to the top?  It had just taken place the previous weekend.  My first reaction when I learned about it was, NO WAY.  But the more I think about it, the more it seems like an interesting concept. Could I have it in me to run 7.6 miles straight uphill? I don’t really have what people call a “bucket list,” but if I did…

IMG_20140624_115351_131-1

We arrived in the late afternoon, in the rain, at our lovely house on Moosehead Lake, and had another awesome dinner (The Stress Free Moose in Greenville) and discussed what we would do the next day, in the rain.  Stay tuned…

OH, and I totally forgot!  Don’t forget to visit Clan Donaldson and check out more Theme Thursday Trails!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mountains and Trails: Theme Thursday (New England, Days 2 and 3)

  1. Cathy W says:

    Geocaching and trails – a great combination! (I didn’t find the one I tried for today, darn it!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

