Get Thee To Church: St. Mary’s, Cambridge, Vermont (Or, New England Vacay, Day 1)

After our trip to Alaska, I published a summary of our vacation at Musings of a Catholic Mom in one long post, in the form of Seven Quick Takes (“7 Long Days: The Alaska Edition”).  I had planned to do something like that this week but I think I’ll break it up into several posts–and like I said the other day, I’ll try very hard not to bore you….and perhaps I’ll give you more than one post a week after all.

It was the first day of summer.  We had spent most of the previous day in the car, and everyone was exhausted.  I woke up at 4:30 am to find sunlight peeking through the curtains in our condo in Smuggler’s Notch, Vermont–which is a ski resort in the winter, and a fun place for a getaway during the summer.  I realized that we were quite a bit farther north than where we live, and it was in fact the longest day of the year.  After downing a cup of coffee and a little bit of food I threw on my running clothes and headed out the door.  I ended up running about six and a half miles, a little bit farther than I had planned, but what a beautiful morning it was, in such a beautiful place!  And there was a geocache just over three miles down the road–which was a good excuse for a 6+ mile out-and-back.  When I returned, everyone was still sleeping.

IMG_20140622_054400_843

When we go on vacation, we’re usually leaving on a Saturday, which means arriving late in the day and going to church on Sunday morning.  It’s nice to start a fun-filled week with Mass.  After I showered and we dragged the boys out of bed, we found this lovely little church a few miles away.

IMG_6941

At the beginning of Mass when the lector got up and said “Good Morning, and welcome to St. Mary of the Assumption Church,” Joe and I looked at each other and grinned.  When we lived in Upper Marlboro, Maryland, we attended St. Mary of the Assumption–it’s where I was received into the Catholic Church, in fact!

If you’ve been following my blogs for a long time, you probably know that when I attend Mass at a church other than my own, I like to take pictures and post them here.  So after Mass when Joe and the boys waited in the car, I stayed behind for a few minutes to snap some photos.  A nice gentleman asked me if I was vacationing from out of town, and I said yes, and that I like to take pictures of the churches where I visit.  He said, “Welcome to our little country church!”  And a lovely little country church it was, too; almost as little as Our Lady of the Valley, and Immaculate Conception in Alaska–and every bit as lovely.

IMG_6942

 

IMG_6943

After Mass we stopped by a local winery to sample some of their fare (just me–Joe was driving), and the wine-tasting guy told us we should check out Burger Barn for lunch.  Just a little trailer with a few picnic tables outside that served 100% local grass-fed beef.  A long line and a long wait for our food (this blog was once called “Eating Slowly,” after all), and totally worth it!

In the afternoon we played our first ever game of disc golf.  We opted for the nine-hole easy course instead of the more difficult eighteen-hole course nearby.

IMG_6947

Later while the boys checked out the water park at the resort, I decided to head toward town (actually a village–Jeffersonville, pop. 731) and check out a couple of geocaches down the road.  To my delight I discovered that they were hidden near an old covered bridge that is still in use.  I found one geocache in the woods off a nearby trail, and looked for the other one underneath the bridge but couldn’t find it.

IMG_6950

After grabbing pizza for dinner at the resort Joe and I left the kids in the condo to play their video games and watch TV or whatever it is they do, and went to a pub to listen to some live music for a  while.

What did we do the next day?  Climbed a mountain.  And another one the day after that.  I’ll tell you about those adventures in a future post.  Thanks for visiting!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Thee To Church: St. Mary’s, Cambridge, Vermont (Or, New England Vacay, Day 1)

  1. Jacq says:

    It’s so nice when bloggers post pictures of their Catholic churches in their respective countries. It makes me feel like I’ve visited the place too. Nice pictures and nice post! Cheers to more traveling and adventures with your boys.

    God bless you!

    All the best,
    Jacq
    mycatholicchic.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

