Blog Makeover…a Bright Idea?

Last week I got an email from George, host of the New Evangelists Monthly link-up on his blog, Convert Journal. He said it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything there and I was missed.  I had to tell him that regrettably I had nothing to submit because I had all but quit blogging these last few months. That’s OK, he said (I wish I could find that email so I could share his exact words); even the most mundane of adventures are a fine excuse to get into a blogging slump. That made me smile, because that’s what life is, really, isn’t it? One big adventure. Most of the time it’s so mundane it’s hardly worth the teensy-est blog post, and when a bigger adventure comes along you hardly have time to blog about it.

IMG_6994

By the way, did you notice anything different when you opened up this post? Yes, I’ve gone and changed the title of this here little site. Lately “Eating Slowly” has been sounding more and more cheesy (it was starting to make me cringe, if you want to know the truth); and besides, I hardly blog about food anymore anyway–heck, I hardly blog at all. So this morning as I was running laps on our local high school track (Speedwork. My least favorite workout. Thank the Good Lord for Spotify.) I started to think, “I wonder if I could squeeze in one post a week? Just one? Surely that won’t be too hard!” I decided then and there that TODAY I would FINALLY get myself back into blogging again, start from scratch (hence the name change), and make an effort to put out one blog post every week–maybe somewhere in the Thursday-Friday time frame, but we’ll see. If I can get into a routine now, maybe by the time school starts I can keep it going, and who knows? Perhaps some weeks I’ll find the time for two posts.

Without further ado, I bring you the rest of this week’s post:  my entry for Cari’s linkup, Theme Thursday. This week’s theme? Bright. That was the theme the first time I jumped onto Cari’s blogwagon, so it’s perfect.

RANDOM BRIGHT PHOTOS FROM OUR NEW ENGLAND VACATION:

IMG_20140622_054400_843

(My 6-mile run in Smuggler’s Notch, Vermont took longer than it should have because I kept stopping to take pictures.)

 

IMG_20140623_131832_489-1

(From a covered bridge in near Smuggler’s Notch where I found a way cool Geocache.)

 

IMG_7008

(A funny little duck splashing around in Moosehead Lake, Maine.)

 

IMG_7025

(The view from the dock at our Moosehead Lake rental house. It had rained for most of our stay there, and the morning we left I could finally greet the sun.)

 

IMG_7036

(Boston: the Old South Meeting House, where the Boston Tea Party was organized.)

 

IMG_20140628_165648_325-1

(St. Stephen’s Church in Boston, where we attended Mass.  Oh, hello, Paul Revere.)

Maybe next week’s post will be more New England photos (I’ll try not to make it too boring–I know it’s not always thrilling to look at other people’s  vacation pictures); or perhaps I’ll give you something different like a recipe or some random thoughts about friendship or God or running.  Meanwhile, be sure to check out Clan Donaldson for more bright pics.  Thanks for visiting; see you next week, I hope!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

