7 Quick Takes: The I’m Still Here Edition

7_quick_takes_sm

The other night at the dinner table I was taking a photo of my plate of food, because I had tried a new recipe and wanted to post it on my blog.  “Not that I have time to do that,” I said.  “I haven’t posted anything in like three months.”  Moe (age 13, boy does time fly) seemed shocked.  “REALLY??  What’s the point of having a blog if you’re not going to post anything?”

Exactly.

May I present my first post since February, a short summary of what’s been going on in my life recently:

1. My childhood friend who I hadn’t seen in years passed away from cancer.

IMG_0302

2.  I ran my first half marathon.

IMG_20140518_122935_022

3.  I’ve found thirty-four geocaches since my last post. (I took a selfie when I found my 200th cache.  People must have wondered what the heck I was doing taking selfies behind the Wawa at 7:30 am on a Saturday.)

Copy (1) of IMG_20140503_073024_671

4.  We spent Easter weekend in Atlanta with my brother and his family, my brother-in-law and his family, AND Joe’s parents.  We had a wonderful time.

IMG_6566

5.  My Fitbit is my new favorite gadget.

6.  I had the privilege of running with some of my fellow LIFE Runners on a 5K leg along the length of the Mall in DC as part of their annual A-Cross America Relay.  The relay started on Ash Wednesday on at the Golden Gate and Brooklyn Bridges, and met on Palm Sunday in Souix Falls, South Dakota.  I also got to meet Jeanne Monahan, the President of the March For Life, which was way cool.

(Oh, and I signed up for the LIFE Runners’ national race, the Air Force Marathon in Dayton, Ohio on September 20.  Except I’m doing the half, not the full marathon.  I want to get a couple more 13.1-mile races under my belt at least before I start thinking about running 26.2.)

7.  Larry brought the house down playing Seymour in his high school’s production of Little Shop of Horrors.  And more recently Larry and Curly both starred in Romeo and Juliet, which was the school’s spring play.  It’s so much fun watching my boys on stage!

 

IMG_6393

 

Today was the last day at preschool.  As much as I’m looking forward to summer, I’m always a little sad to see the school year end.  I’m going to miss the kiddos, especially the ones moving on to Kindergarten in the fall.

My Catechesis of the Good Shepherd training has been going swimmingly.  I have two sessions left and I’ll be certified to teach Level I, which is the three to six-year-old program.  One of my tasks for the summer is to catch up on my homework and required reading because I’ve fallen behind.  Fortunately we don’t have specific due dates and our assignments aren’t graded!

Hopefully I’ll be able to post more often this summer.  I miss being part of the blogging scene.  (And I think it’s time to change the name, which I’ve contemplated doing from the very beginning.  “Eating Slowly” sounds cheesy, and it doesn’t seem to quite fit anymore…we’ll see.)  In these next few weeks I hope to tell you more about my friend Mary and how she touched my life more than I realized, and how random things remind me of her.  I’ll tell you about my new love for running and how I never thought I’d be crazy enough to run a half marathon and then I did, and I’m planning to do more.  I’ll tell you about books I’ve been reading, movies I’ve been watching (not many of either), geocaches I’m finding–yes, I’m a geek–and the shenanegans and craziness that comes with having three teenage boys in the house.  And of course I’ll write about my faith and the adventures of being Catholic.  And about food.  Have I left anything out?

Have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend, and be sure to visit Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

 

 

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

