From Fine Cooking: Creamy Tomato Soup and Sandwiches

Unless  I want to change the name of this blog, I’d better do some posts about food already.

I’ve been getting Fine Cooking magazine for years (my dear mother-in-law just renewed my subscription as a birthday gift, yay!), and I think my favorite section is the one called “Make It Tonight.”  I’ve posted a number of those recipes here already.   Here’s a super-easy and delicious tomato soup I made one Tuesday night in November:

IMG_5754

TOMATO-CHEDDAR SOUP WITH HAM TOASTIES

3 oz (6 Tbs.) unsalted butter, softened

1 small sweet onion, such as Vidalia, coarsely chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)

2 medium cloves garlic, coarsely chopped

1 large sprig fresh thyme

1/2 cup dry white wine (optional)

2 14-oz. cans diced fire-roasted tomatoes and their juice

2 cups lower-salt chicken broth

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

8 slices deli ham, preferably Black Forest

2 Tbs Dijon mustard

1/4 cup heavy cream

4 oz. sharp Cheddar, finely grated (2 cups using a rasp grater)

Position a rack in the center of the oven.  Put a baking sheet on the rack and heat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Melt 2 Tbs. of the butter in a 3-quart saucepan over medium-low heat.  Add the onion, garlic, and thyme and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion softens, about 5 minutes.

Turn the heat to medium high, add the wine, if using, and cook until reduced by half, about 3 minutes.

Add the tomatoes, chicken broth, 1 tsp. salt, and 1/2 tsp. pepper and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat, cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes to meld the flavors.

Meanwhile, make 4 sandwiches with the bread, ham, and mustard.  Butter the outsides of the sandwiches with the remaining 4 Tbs. butter and transfer to the hot baking sheet.  Bake, flipping once, until golden-brown on both sides, 6 to 10 minutes.

Remove the thyme sprig from the soup and blend the soup with an immersion blender or in batches in a blender until smooth, about 2 minutes.  Return the soup to the pot, stir in the cream, and bring just to a simmer over medium heat.  Reduce the heat to low and stir in the cheese, a handful at a time, until melted.  season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve the soup with the sandwiches.

–Julissa Roberts

From Fine Cooking No. 125, October/November 2013, p. 19

IMG_5756

(Not sure why the fork.  Most likely I served a salad with it.  My sandwich is on gluten free bread, of course.)

IMG_5757

(MMMMMMMmmmmmmmm!!)

Hmmm, I have some cream left over from the oyster stew I made for New Years’ dinner (I posted the recipe here a couple of years ago).  I think I just might make this soup for dinner one night this week!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

