Five (ahem, SEVEN) Favorite Geocaches, Fall 2013

It’s almost Christmas and I probably should be posting about Advent wreaths and Christmas trees, but today it’s all about one of my current obsessions: geocaching.  Since September 1 I’ve found 78 geocaches (DANG, do I need to get a life or what?), and just for fun I’ve picked out seven of my favorites to highlight here and link to Hallie’s Five Favorites and Jen’s 7 Quick Takes.  Here they are in more or less chronological order:

1.  Coward’s Critter Cache #1

When I ran my first 5K in September (I mean the first one I actually ran) in Richmond, I wanted to find a few geocaches before heading home.  I found this one in a wooded area in an office park, and when I approached the hollow tree that was the hiding place, I found this.

IMG_20130908_111547_348

I was more amused than freaked out.  Tucked inside the rubber rat was a little metal tube containing the log sheet.

2.  Street Art in the Alley

When we visited my parents in Blacksburg for a weekend I went for a run, stopping to find a few geocaches along the way.  (I took so long that eventually Joe called me wondering where in the heck I was already, as my mother had breakfast on the table.)  This one was hidden just a stone’s throw away from the Baptist church I attended every Sunday from birth until I moved out of state.  (And then I became Catholic.)  One of the nearby businesses has a colorful mural painted on the back wall.  This is what I found:

IMG_20130921_074034_832

The little tube with the log sheet was stuck up the bug’s rear end.

3.  Living in a Van Down By the River

This one wasn’t really all that exciting–just a tube attached with a magnet to an electrical box on a traffic signal pole.  I found it in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, when we visited there for the Bloomsburg Fair.  I took an early Sunday morning walk to find it, and when I got there I was kicking myself for not bringing my good camera with me.  The blurry photo I took with my phone does no justice to the lovely scene before me.

IMG_20130929_071459_240

Nearby were some new businesses, and I expect if we return the fields and meadows will be replaced with more businesses and parking lots.

4.  BOOM ShockaLocka

IMG_20131012_103033_254

Just for the cuteness factor.

5.  Tow Mater Without the Tow

IMG_5222

It took me two tries to find this one.  I don’t think I’ve ever looked so closely at every inch of an old truck.

6.  Night Cache #19

One local cacher has placed a whole series of geocaches specifically for finding at night.  I didn’t take a photo here, but finding this one was kind of exciting in my own little nerdy way.  Here’s what I posted on the cache page:

That was way easier than I thought! Dropped off the boys at Massaponax HS for their dress rehearsal for Stage Door Production’s The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe this weekend. Arrived within 30 meters of GZ and almost chickened out at the thought of poking around in the dark, but then I noticed something shiny in my headlights. Is that the cache? Well there’s only one way to find out. I got out of my vehicle armed with my smartphone, a pen, and a flashlight, walked right to the shiny object that turned out to be the cache, and signed the log. I hope I have time to search for more of these over the weekend! TFTC!

That’s the only one of those caches I’ve found so far.

7.  Along the River

I took a short walk one afternoon to find this one.

IMG_5851

 IMG_5849

I need to take walks like this more often.

Be sure to check out Moxie Wife for more Five Favorites, and Conversion Diary for more 7 Quick Takes!  (Jenn asks her readers to tell her their favorite Christmas song.  Mine is “O Holy Night.”  Why?  Because the first time I heard it, my mother was singing it on Christmas Eve in church.  I might tell you more about it sometime, but it might make me cry.) Have a wonderful weekend!  Hopefully you’ll hear from me one more time before the 25th, but if not, have a very blessed Christmas!

 

five-favorites-moxie-wife-1

7_quick_takes_sm

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five (ahem, SEVEN) Favorite Geocaches, Fall 2013

  1. michael says:

    These are some amazing photos, it really looks like something fun to do and there are so many sites about geocaching.

  2. Leo says:

    Maybe this is a stupid question, but what is geocaching? The pics are cool but Im confused as too what it means.

    • momn3boys says:

      Hi, Leo! Geocaching is using GPS technology to look for objects that other people hide. Often it’s a container, like a Tupperware box, full of little trinkets and if you find it you can take one and leave something to replace it (one reason kids tend to enjoy it!) There is also a notebook or a log sheet inside for you to sign your name if you find it. Many of them are tiny, just big enough for a little rolled-up piece of paper to sign (like “Boom Shocka Locka,” where someone has attached a plastic moose to a tree and hung a little green tube from its antlers. If you open the tube there’s a paper inside.) Each “geocache” has its own page that tells you about it and what its coordinates are. If you go online to Geocaching.com, you can sign up for a free membership. You can find some little tutorials and things there too that can help you learn about it. When we started, we had a hand-held Garmin GPS that we would enter the coordinates into and then it would lead us to the cache. Nowadays I have an app on my phone that lets me pull up the cache page and it will navigate me. (The “official” Geocaching app is $10 but I use a free one called c.geo and it’s great.) After you find it you can go to the cache page and “log” your find. One thing I love about it is that it takes me places I might not otherwise go–like the one in #7 that was hidden along a trail off River Road. There are geocaches all over Fredericksburg; I think you’ll be surprised when you see how many there are! 😀

Leave a Reply

