Random Thankfulness

I’m thankful for the time we spent in Williamsburg with Joe’s family these last few days.  My mother-in-law cooked and incredible Thanksgiving dinner, and his parents invited two of their close friends to share the meal with all of us.  (I took not one picture during the gathering.  Joe’s mother said she was surprised that I didn’t take photos of the food like I normally do.  We were so caught up in the fun of the day, taking pictures was the furthest thing from my mind, I suppose!)  Later we called Joe’s brother in Atlanta and said hello to him and my sister-in-law and their two kids.  Their five-year-old son told us all about the gingerbread house he had made, complete with a gingerbread snowman and a gingerbread Christmas tree.  (They said they would send me a picture, but I have yet to see it.)  I called my brother, too, who moved to the Atlanta area just this past week.  They closed on their house on Monday.  We’re already in the process of trying to figure out when we’ll be coming to visit them (hopefully sometime over the Christmas holidays but we’re not sure).  I expect now that both of our brothers live in Atlanta we’ll be traveling there more often.  At least I hope we will.  I’m sad that they’re so far away now (and I’m going to miss my nephew’s first birthday, wah), but happy for all of them and thankful for the times we have spent together.

IMG_5655

(We were blessed to spend a day with my brother’s family earlier this month.  I miss them already.)

My friend L and her family spent Thanksgiving with her sister-in-law and her husband and kids, who live just a mile or two from my in-laws.  Thanksgiving morning she and I and her teenage daughter rose at the crack of dawn to run in the annual Blue Talon Bistro Turkey Trot in colonial Williamsburg.  We had a great time, and I finished with a pace of 10 minutes per mile, which is pretty fast for me.  I’m thankful to both of them for running with me (even though they beat me by about a minute and a half), to L’s husband for driving us, and to Joe and his Dad and Curly for coming out to cheer for me.

IMG_20131128_081149_552(Before the race.  We were cold.)

1128130902

(Joe took this of me right before I crossed the finish line.  I posted it on Twitter (WHY???) an since I’m wearing my Life Runners T-shirt, I decided to tag Life Runners in my post.  Dang if they didn’t post it on their Facebook page.)

Friday I went for a three-mile run in the morning through my in-laws’ neighborhood, and in the afternoon we saw Catching Fire and enjoyed a nice dinner near the William and Mary campus.  After dinner we headed home, and I was thankful this morning to wake up in my own bed.  Today and tomorrow will be dedicated to our normal mundane weekend activities–grocery shopping, housecleaning, catching up on laundry, yard work(this time of year that means “leaf blowing and raking”), and hopefully I’ll get a run or two in as well.  And of course, church.  I’m not sure when the Christmas Shopping will officially get started here–we’re not ones to run out on Black Friday to snag the best deals, or (like some people I envy) get all the shopping and wrapping finished before Thanksgiving.  It always gets done, somehow.

Have a wonderful weekend!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

