Random Catholicity

IMG_6095clb

In Father R’s homily last Sunday, he told of a conversation he had with a young woman who had left the Catholic Church.  He asked her why she left, and her answer surprised him.  She said it was because the world seems so random.  Things happen and there doesn’t seem to be any order or purpose for anything.  He contrasted this reasoning with the experience of his brother, who before becoming a priest was a microphysicist or something of that sort.  The more he learned about the randomness of the smallest particles, like things that make up an electron or a quark–I don’t pretend to have any knowledge of such things, so don’t even ask me–the more he was convinced that there HAD to be an intelligence to make order out of such chaos.  (I remember reading a blog post years ago–Jennifer Fulwiler’s, I think– in which she explained why she enjoyed doing housework.  She hated it at first, and then she started looking at it like God creating the universe–making order out of chaos.  I find myself thinking about that from time to time when I’m cleaning and would much rather be doing something else.)  He knew that only a God of extreme intelligence and love could create something alive and beautiful and purposeful out of seemingly random particles.

My life has been so full and rich I have put blogging on a back burner of late.  (By “full” and “rich” I mean this:  it’s mostly wonderful, and quite busy; there is lots of love and laughter and activity, but we have our struggles, too, which certainly make things interesting.)  I want to start putting my random thoughts about my faith into this blog, especially the little encounters with God I have on a day-to-day basis.

On a recent Sunday as I settled myself into the pew, pulled down the kneeler and tried to conjure up a few lame prayers, I looked up at the crucifix.  I realized (and perhaps it was God whispering to me) that lately I had mostly been a Sunday Catholic.  I go to Mass on Sunday, and perhaps I’ll remember to say a prayer or two during the week, and I usually listen to The Catholic Channel every morning on the radio (and since I started running I’ve been praying the Rosary during my workouts, so I guess that’s something), but I hardly ever read the Bible or sit down and really take the time to pray.

I don’t want to be a Sunday Catholic.  I am trying to devote more time to scripture and prayer.  I spent a fair chunk of time yesterday writing down some random encounters with Christ I’ve had over the last several days.  I’m hoping to create some order out of the chaos in my mind and heart by sharing more of those thoughts with you, and after Thanksgiving I plan to start posting here more.  I’ve missed blogging.  (And I’ve missed blogging about food, too; I’d better start that up again or else I’m going to have to change the name of this blog…)

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

