Theme Thursday, Volume 9: Orange

Remember this post?  About how I planned to get my act together and quit social media in order to focus on things like, oh, keeping my house clean and doing healthy things like exercising and cooking and praying the Rosary and reading good books?  (Not to mention spending more time with the people I love.)  I’m still planning to do that.  Just as soon as I post this. Ha.

When I was younger, I thought orange was my least favorite color.  I avoided wearing anything orange because I thought it made me look washed-out.  I don’t know why I felt this way, because on the rare occasions when I wore orange people complimented me on how good I looked in it.  Maybe it was because when I was in about the fifth grade, my parents decided it was time to paint my bedroom, and I could pick any color I wanted.  We went to the paint store and I picked out a nice peach color, and we spent weeks putting coat after coat of the stuff all over the walls.  When it was done, guess what color it was?  Orange.  Kind of a light yellowish-orange.  I got used to it, but when my parents sold the house, what do you think the new owners did just as soon as they moved in?  You guessed it, they painted that room.

Cari picked a good theme for this week, this being the season of autumn leaves and pumpkins and all.  I’m sure I can find a gazillion pictures of orange fall-ish things on my computer, but I want to share something recent.

I can show you this award-winning cake we saw on display at the Bloomsburg Fair a few weeks ago,

IMG_5146

or maybe this one.   A high school classmate of Joe’s made it.  Cool, huh?

IMG_5148

Unfortunately the photo of the prize-winning pumpkin at the fair turned out a little blurry.  Notice the light orange color–that’s about what my bedroom walls looked like.

IMG_5151

Hmmm…what other orange-themed photos do I have?  A-HA!  These, which I took one evening last week, after it had been raining the entire day.

IMG_5245

(without flash)

IMG_5249

(with flash)

The next day it rained again, and didn’t stop for nearly a week.  We finally saw the sun again on Monday.

Be sure to check out Clan Donaldson for more Theme Thursday posts!  (And stay tuned to see whether or not I get around to blogging again before the next Theme Thursday…)

TT Button

P.S. Just now as I was adding labels to this post, I remembered one involving CAKES and PUMPKINS that I published on “Musings of a Catholic Mom” a few years ago. Back when Moe still couldn’t eat dairy products or eggs, I would make him dairy-free and egg-free cakes for his birthday and decorate them myself. (The other boys got store-bought cakes. Yes, I AM a slacker mom.) So I’ve got pictures over there of a cake I made and a recipe for some cupcakes that he loved, and a pumpkin that we carved that Halloween (more orange!). You can check it out if you’re so inclined!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

