Theme Thursday, Threefold

I’ve missed a few Theme Thursday posts, but they’re so much fun and I didn’t want to skip any!   So here we go:

1.  OUT

The demolition derby at the Bloomsburg Fair was one of the highlights of our weekend in Joe’s hometown.

IMG_5162

There was quite a bit of drama when one car caught fire and the firefighters rushed to put it out. (And the driver high-tailed it out of there pretty quick, too.)

IMG_5160

2.  SECRET

A geocache in my town, tucked away in its secret hiding place behind a tree.

IMG_5217

(Pretty easy to spot, no?  Notice my smartphone says it’s 6.82 meters away, even though clearly it’s not.  Finding a geocache isn’t an exact science, but that’s part of the fun!)

IMG_5217a

3.  And this week’s theme:  DOUBLE

We had some time to kill before the 10:30 am Mass at Saint Columba in Bloomsburg, so we took a drive a few miles down a rural road to show the boys where Joe’s parents lived (they moved a few miles out of town when Joe was a senior in high school, where they lived when I first met them) before they left Pennsylvania for good.  On the way back we stopped here:

IMG_5170

Seeing double?  That’s because there are two covered bridges here, aptly named “Twin Bridges.”

IMG_5167

It’s a nice spot for a picnic, and there’s even a geocache here somewhere.  We didn’t have time to either picnic or hunt for treasure, but I did manage to snap a few photos.

IMG_5166

IMG_5171

Next Thursday’s theme is “orange,” and I already have several photos in mind to share!

Want to join the fun?  Head on over to Clan Donaldson to see more Theme Thursday posts.  This week I’m doubly excited to see what other nerdy bloggers like me are sharing.  I’m not sure when you’ll hear from me again, so let me be the first to wish you a wonderful Columbus Day weekend! (And if you’re furloughed, that you’ll be back to work next week.)

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Theme Thursday, Threefold

  1. Cathy W says:

    Geocaching is so much fun! (All those gorgeous photos and descriptions and what sticks out to me…Geocaching! Yes, I’m a geek.) 😀

Leave a Reply

