Get Thee To Church: Saint Columba, Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania

IMG_5181

We took a trip to Joe’s hometown last weekend.  His parents don’t live there anymore, and it’s been almost twenty years since we’ve visited.  For about a week every September, life in and around Bloomsburg is focused on one thing:  The Bloomsburg Fair.  Joe wanted to boys to experience the phenomena of The Fair (I went with him once, many years ago.  I barely remember it.)  We spent Saturday wandering among the food vendors, sampling such delicacies as deep-fried Oreos (even though I’m not supposed to eat gluten I just HAD to sample a teensy bite), barbecued pork AND beef, and fresh, raw, unpasteurized apple cider.  We admired the giant pumpkins and the award-winning artwork and show dogs and cakes.  We spent a couple of hours watching cars pulverize each other in a championship demolition derby.  The boys rode the fastest, most stomach-churning rides at the fair.  We were all so exhausted we were in bed by 9 pm.

Sunday it was Mass at St. Columba, where Joe received his first communion, and where he was confirmed.

IMG_5173

IMG_5174

 

He says it looks exactly like how he remembers it.  Before our church was renovated, he used to tell me it reminded him a little of St. Columba; both were built in the early 1970s.

IMG_5175

The Stations of the Cross are the same ones Joe remembers, except the dark wooden crosses are a new addition.

IMG_5177

IMG_5178

IMG_5183

In a future post, I’ll show you a few more highlights from our weekend in Bloomsburg–I’ve already picked at least two photos to submit for Theme Thursday.  I’ve fallen behind and I’m looking forward to catching up.

See you Thursday, if not before–now get thee to church!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Thee To Church: Saint Columba, Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania

  1. Cathy (Music director) says:

    Come back and see us again at St. Columba!

Leave a Reply

