From Fine Cooking, 2008: Grilled Sausage with Summer Vegetables

IMG_4953

Summer may be on the way out, but there are still plenty of summer vegetables to pick from at our farmers market.  On Saturday I loaded up on some, picked up a couple of pounds of spicy Italian sausage at the local butcher, and made this for dinner:

IMG_4945

GRILLED SAUSAGE WITH SUMMER SQUASH, FRESH HERBS & OLIVES

Serves four.

If you like, add other summer vegetables, like peppers, eggplant or sweet onions.*

1 1/2 lb. mixed summer squash, cut into 1-inch chunks

2 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and black pepper

1 lb. Italian sausage links (chicken or pork)

1/3 cup mixed herbs, such as cilantro, parsley, mint, and basil, chopped

1 Tbs. capers, rinsed

Squeeze of fresh lemon juice**

Prepare a medium-hot grill fire.

Toss the squash with the olive oil in a medium bowl, season to taste with salt and pepper.

Grill the squash and the sausage, turning frequently, until the squash is just tender and the sausage is cooked through, 8 to 12 minutes.  Cut the sausage into 1-inch chunks.  Toss the squash and sausage with the herbs, olives, and capers.  Season with lemon juice, salt, and pepper.

Fine Cooking No. 94, September 2008; back cover

*I used zucchini, yellow squash, eggplant, and sweet red peppers.

**I forgot the lemon juice.  It was still good.

According to the magazine, it’s supposed to take twenty minutes from start to finish.  It didn’t.  That might be because I made a lot of it, or it might be that I’m just slow.  That said, we could easily have done this on a weeknight.

IMG_4950

I finally bought a grill basket!

IMG_4948

The boys were stealing the olives, so I made Curly help me cut some more. He was happy to oblige.

IMG_4955

The only complaint I got was that there were too many vegetables and not enough sausage. In my book, that isn’t a problem, but it’s something that can be easily fixed!

Last week I made pork barbecue in the slow cooker.  Tonight we’re using the leftover sauce to make barbecued chicken.  This weekend I plan to try something I’ve never done before: Gazpacho.  Wish me luck!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Fine Cooking, 2008: Grilled Sausage with Summer Vegetables

  1. Sharon says:

    Yummers! I definitely need to eat more sausage…

  2. This looks so good. It’s kind of like ratatouille with Italian sausage mixed in.

Leave a Reply

