Get Thee To Church! Saint Brendan the Navigator, Shallotte, North Carolina

IMG_20130815_180543_237On this particular trip to Ocean Isle Beach, we attended St. Brendan’s twice:  once on Sunday, and once on Thursday the 15th of August for the Feast of the Assumption.

IMG_20130815_175957_235

I usually lug my camera case into church when we’re travelling so I can take some photos before and/or after Mass.  On Sunday I left it at the beach house, figuring I would bring it the next time when it would likely be less crowded.  (Technically, Mass should have been equally crowded being a Holy Day of Obligation and all, but unfortunately the Feast of the Assumption is largely ignored.  I should know.  We have ignored it on occasion, I’m sorry to say.)  On Sunday evening I discovered that the humidity had temporarily disabled my camera, so on Thursday I resorted to taking my church photos with my phone.

IMG_20130815_175826_953

IMG_20130815_175740_021

IMG_20130815_175628_247

There is a wonderful little farmers’ market just up the road from Saint Brendan’s (Good ol’ US 17, my local friends!),  and our tradition when we vacation at Ocean Isle is to stop by on Sunday after Mass for our fruits and vegetables for the week.  This year the boys begged us to PLEASE take them back to the beach house so they wouldn’t have to wait for me while I took FOREVER to wander aimlessly around for some pointless vegetables they wouldn’t want to eat anyway.  We flatly refused, and grudginly they accompanied Joe and I into the store.  Soon they forgot they didn’t want to be there, because they managed to add some bags of candy, some bottles of ultra-sweet ginger beer, and one bottle of extra-hot hot sauce (mostly for Joe and Curly).  And on Assumption Day, I will say that everyone was quite patient while I took my sweet time getting photos of the church!

IMG_20130815_180246_135

IMG_20130815_180319_985

Dinner Thursday was at The Giggling Mackerel, and Friday was our last vacation day.  We spent the morning on the beach, and the afternoon in Southport where we browsed some antique shops, went to a showing of Percy Jackson’s Sea of Monsters, and a had wonderful dinner by the water.

I have a feeling we’ll visit Saint Brendan’s again in the not-too-distant future.

IMG_20130816_100319_938

Happy Sunday!  Now get thee to church!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

