7 Quick Takes Volume 12, and Theme Thursday, Too

–1–

Last week we took our family vacation.  Often, it seems, our annual summer vacation takes place in mid-August, shortly before the boys go back to school and I go back to work.  Last year we went to Alaska, which was an amazing adventure.  This year, we took a more laid-back route, to one of our favorite haunts:  Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina.  We had some sunny hot days, and some cool rainy days.  It was very humid, and early in the week when I took out my camera to snap some photos of the boys flying kites, I discovered that there was so much condensation inside and out that I couldn’t photograph anything.  When I tried to wipe some of the moisture away, I made it worse.  I thought for sure my camera was done for (It’s not, thank goodness.  There is a part missing, it’s been missing for a while, and I’m putting off having it serviced because it doesn’t really affect how the photos turn out) so for the rest of the week I took photos with only my phone.  They didn’t turn out half bad.  Here’s a sample:

IMG_20130812_201032_347

IMG_20130816_091756_990

IMG_20130816_100319_938

IMG_20130813_073047_508

(Can you see the sand crab? I spotted him early one morning when I went out geocaching; see Take #5.)

IMG_20130816_101852_157

(our home for the week)

–2–

Whenever we attend a church other than our own, I like to take pictures and share them here.   And I REALLY want to keep participating in Cari’s “Theme Thursday” linkup; it just so happened that last week’s theme was “Faith.”  When we attended Saint Brendan’s in Shallotte for The Feast of the Assumption, I took some photos after Mass.  I loved this statue of Our Lady and the Child Jesus:

IMG_20130815_175957_235

(I assume this is “Our Lady of Something-or-other,” but I’m not sure what.  Anybody know?)

I have more pictures of this lovely church; stay tuned!

–3–

This week’s Theme Thursday subject is “Food.”  May I present this lovely side dish I found in Every Day with Rachael Ray:

IMG_4837

Tomato & Basil Bake 

1 lb cherry tomatoes, halved -2 cloves fresh garlic, chopped -1 tbsp. EVOO -1/2 cup panko -2 tbsp. melted butter -2 tbsp. chopped basil –> In 8-inch baking dish, toss tomatoes, garlic and EVOO, season.  Boil, stirring until tomatoes soften, 12 minutes.  Stir panko and butter together, sprinkle over tomatoes.  Broil 30 seconds.  Sprinkle with basil.  Serves 4.

(Every Day with Rachael Ray, June 2013, p. 24)

I used gluten free bread crumbs that I had made from some scraps of g-free bread in my freezer.  Joe and the boys weren’t too crazy about it (I cannot tell the difference).  I said next time maybe I’ll use grated cheese on top instead of bread crumbs.  They said that would be lovely.

–4–

At the beach I read a wonderful book by Tatiana De Rosnay called Sarah’s Key.  I found a copy of it at the beach house (have you ever stayed at a beach house that didn’t have a book collection?) and I read it in just a couple of days.  It’s a beautiful, heartbreaking book.  You’ll need Kleenex.  (And the movie is streaming on Netflix!)

–5–

I did some geocaching while we were gone, too.  Of course, nobody was interested in joining me, but since there were quite a number of cache hides very close to where we were staying, I was able to venture out on my own several times without being gone very long.  One thing I love about geocaching is that it often takes you places you might not go, and gives you a chance to see things you might not see.  One of my favorites of the week was hidden at the east end of Ocean Isle Beach (the island faces South), where there has been quite a bit of beach erosion and some of the houses that were not originally beach front homes are now.  A few have sandbags piled around them to protect them from the waves, but those will soon have to be torn down, I’m afraid.  Consequently it’s much more quiet on that end, and that morning I took a lovely walk on the beach at low tide to find the cache.

IMG_20130813_071601_199

–6–

On Tuesday evening, I ran twenty-six minutes.  (Note to self:  If you must work out after dinner, don’t eat much.  And absolutely no dessert.)  Today I’m up to twenty-nine minutes, and I could have run even longer.  I’m starting to have a go at small hills.  I might just be ready to run 10K’s by November.  Yikes!  Is this really me??

–7–

School is about to start.  I’ve already started back to work.  I promised myself I would make wiser use of my time than I have in the past, which means more consistent housework, exercise, and prayer.  If I follow the new “schedule” I’ve made for myself, there is very little room for blogging or Facebook.  I hope my new exercise routine will give me more energy (it already is, actually) to do my daily tasks more efficiently, and maybe there will be more time for those things than I think.  We’ll see; meanwhile, I hope you all have a blessed weekend!

For more Quick Takes, check out Conversion Diary; and be sure to stop by Clan Donaldson for more lovely food pics–I’ll bet there will be some recipes, too!

7_quick_takes_sm

TT Button

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Quick Takes Volume 12, and Theme Thursday, Too

  1. Oh how fun! I would love to head to the SC beaches. My children have never been to a beach. We’ve set a goal to pay off our house in 5 years and to treat ourselves, we’ll go to the beach to celebrate!

    Suscipio4women
    3-2-1 Party

Leave a Reply

