Theme Thursday Volume 4: Statues; Five of my Favorites!

I take pictures of statues; it’s just something I do.  Especially religious ones, but other kinds too.  Here’s one I spotted by the pool at the KOA we were staying at a couple of weekends ago (It’s hard to see, but they’ve covered up the “D” and replaced it with “FR” so it says “BEWARE OF FROG”):

IMG_4826

That same rainy weekend (we had planned to go hiking, but the weather thrwarted those plans) my friend and I ventured out between rain showers to search for a geocache not far from the campground.  We were greeted by this guy:

IMG_4829

Now for FIVE of my favorites:

IMG_1283
Immaculate Conception Church, Fairbanks, Alaska

IMG_0356

I found this statue of St. Anthony at St. Stephen Martyr Church in Washington, D.C.

IMG_6091_cropped

This one is in my own parish church.

IMG_8317

At St. Luke’s in Ocean City, Maryland is a memorial to the fallen heroes of our armed forces.

IMG_8791

One of Joe’s favorite statues.

And now here’s my friend Gus Lloyd (Okay, he’s not really my friend in the literal sense; I’ve never met the guy.  I listen to his show almost every morning on Sirius/XM’s The Catholic Channel, though; and he IS my Facebook friend!) explaining the significance of statues in our Catholic faith.

For more Five Favorites, visit Hallie at Moxie Wife, and be sure to check out Cari’s post at Clan Donaldson, where you’ll find her very own hand-painted Madonna and Child, and links to tons of other statue-esque posts!

five-favorites-moxie-wife-1

TT Button

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Theme Thursday Volume 4: Statues; Five of my Favorites!

  1. Madeline says:

    I am glad you take pictures of statues because it never even occurs to me, I enjoy statues I just don’t preserve the moment. I wonder why that it? I love the Saint Anthony. He’s one of my favorites anyhow but in that statue he’s so soft and kind. Perfection.

  2. Rebekah Es says:

    The King Kong statue had me cracking up! Nothing like the unexpected!

  3. Natalie says:

    The gorilla and the cat are awesome!

  4. Laura says:

    I agree, I was not expecting the King Kong but I love it!

  5. momn3boys says:

    Thank you all! The King Kong is outside a restaurant and motel called “Pink Caddilac,” it might have been put there as an iconic pop culture thing. They also have 1950’s style pink cadillac outside. Natalie, the cat is the Nittany Lion shrine at Penn State.

Leave a Reply

