From Fine Cooking: Turkey Chorizo Burgers

IMG_4554

I was going through some pictures on my computer last week and found some I had taken way back on June 2, of the yummy burgers we cooked that day.  Things got crazy at my house right after that–the end of the school year, my dog getting sick, party planning for my parents’ 50th anniversary–and I totally forgot about them.   We made them on a Sunday, but they were so easy you could easily do this meal on a weeknight.  (The magazine thinks so, too, since the recipe is in the section called “Make It Tonight.”)

TURKEY-CHORIZO BURGERS WITH GUACAMOLE

1/2 lb. fresh pork chorizo, casings removed

1 lb. ground turkey

Kosher salt

Olive oil, for the grill

1 medium ripe avocado, seeded and peeled

2 tsp. cider vinegar

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

2 or 3 dashes hot pepper sauce, such as Tabasco

4 rolls, split and toasted

1 medium ripe tomato, sliced

 

Prepare a medium (375 degrees F) gas or charcoal grill fire.

Over a large bowl, break up the chorizo into small pieces.  Add the turkey and 1/2 tsp. salt and mix well with your hands.  Form into four 1/2-inch-thick patties.  Press the center of each patty with 3 fingers to make an indentation to help it keep its shape during cooking.

Oil the grill grates and grill the burgers, covered, turning once until an instant-read thermometer inserted in the center of a burger registers 165 degrees F, about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile in a small bowl, mash the avocado, vinegar, cumin, hot sauce, and 1/2 tsp. salt until fairly smooth.

Spread the guacamole over the bottom of each roll, top with a burger, tomato slices, and the top of the roll and serve.

–Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough

(From Fine Cooking No. 123, June/July 2013, p. 14)

IMG_4552

Some wonderful chorizo I picked up from our local butcher

IMG_4555

Mixed with turkey, shaped and ready to go on the grill

IMG_4559

I put a little diced tomato in my guacamole. We discovered that everyone in our family likes guacamole, except Joe.

IMG_4560

A little melted provolone and a ciabatta roll…YUM! (And it’s not bad on a gluten free bun, either!)

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Fine Cooking: Turkey Chorizo Burgers

  1. Topaz says:

    Looks so yummy!! Thanks for the ideas!

Leave a Reply

