Get Thee to Church: Saint Christopher, Speedway, Indiana. And What I Wore. View At Your Own Risk.

IMG_4420It was Memorial Day Weekend.  Yes, I know I’m nearly two months behind in posting this.  Life has been a little hectic lately.  My apologies.

We spent that Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  All day we wandered around gawking at race cars and race car drivers, touring the museum, taking photos, and basically acting giddy, because we were actually HERE, and that we would be watching the Indianapolis 500!  Tomorrow!  IN PERSON!

IMG_4376

This is Parnelli Jones and his car, celebrating the 50th anniversary of Parnelli’s Indianapolis 500 win in 1963.

 

IMG_4398

Most of the drivers had their cars safely tucked away inside their garages. Ed Carpenter, the polesitter for this year’s race, left his out for the fans to admire.

 

IMG_4408

This car was the winner in the first Indy 500 that Joe remembers watching on TV as a kid. He lingered by this one for a while.

 

IMG_4406

And I lingered by this one. It’s the car Dan Wheldon won the Indy 500 with in 2011. Beside it is the winner of the very first Indianapolis 500 in 1911.

 

IMG_4413

Larry signing Charlie Kimball’s car. It would have been cool if he had driven this one in the race, covered in signatures from fans and well-wishers, but of course his race car was nice and clean and Sharpie-free.

 

IMG_4380

Know who this is? It’s Tony Kanaan, your race winner!

 

IMG_4382

Even race car drivers like to play with their phones…

 

We decided to walk to Saint Christopher’s for the 5:30pm vigil Mass, rather than retrieving our car and sitting in traffic, which was getting a little heavy by then. (You should have seen it on race day.  Holy cow.  They say the Indy 500 is the most heavily attended one-day sporting event in the world.  I believe it.  More on that in a minute.)  It’s about a mile or so from the race track, a nice walk through a quiet-looking residential neighborhood.  Fortunately the weather was cool, so we didn’t arrive all sweaty and stinky–yes, we’ve done that on a few occasions during camping trips and race weekends and such.  We arrived early enough that I could refresh my hair and makeup a little bit (this was badly needed, believe me) and take some photos before Mass.

IMG_4419

IMG_4418

IMG_4423

IMG_4422

IMG_4421

IMG_4426

After Mass we stopped over at Mug-n-Bun for dinner because Joe and the boys wanted to try some of their homemade root beer, and when we arrived back at our hotel I snapped this photo of myself:

IMG_20130525_205836_924

Yes, that’s what I looked like in church.  Not very attractive, but there ya go.  My T-shirt–in case you’re having trouble reading it backwards in the mirror–says “Lionheart.”  They made these shirts in honor of Dan Wheldon, who was killed in a crash in 2011. (I blogged about him the day after he died; you can see that post here.)  They say Richard the Lionheart was Dan’s hero and that he had “Lionheart” inscribed on his helmet.  During the Sign of Peace there was a man sitting a couple of rows in front of us who turned around and when he noticed my shirt, he gave me a big thumbs-up.  He then showed me the bracelet he was wearing, which said, “Lionheart.”  I’m sure lots of people in this town have fond memories of Dan.

IMG_4404

IMG_4405a

And Sunday?  Fun and craziness.  I’ve never seen so many drunk people in all my life, and I’ve never seen cars go that fast.  I got a lot of ideas that day for things to blog about, so I think I’ll wrap up this post and compile those thoughts into another one for another day.  I guess I’d better hurry up before I forget them.  I’m already almost two months behind…

Happy Sunday, and please check out Fine Linen and Purple for what other people are wearing to Mass–hopefully you won’t see too many jeans and t-shirts!

WIWS

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get Thee to Church: Saint Christopher, Speedway, Indiana. And What I Wore. View At Your Own Risk.

  1. danardoyle says:

    I enjoyed visiting your site – so cool to “meet” other Catholic women around the country – around the world! I chuckled at your photo of yourself! Hey, you got yourself (and your family to mass)! My dad would love seeing your photos of the race cars and the drivers. He is a loyal racing fan! That’s how he spends nearly every sabbath – church and whatever race is on tv!!

  2. Topaz says:

    Nice pics! I especially love the baptismal font in the church!

  3. momn3boys says:

    Thank you both! Topaz, when we travel I like to take photos of the churches where we go to Mass and post them. Dana, my husband spends Sundays watching races too, especially when there is a Formula One race on. That’s his favorite, and Indy Car is the one we enjoy as a family. We’re not into NASCAR as much, but we still watch those from time to time.

Leave a Reply

