What I Wore Sunday, Volume One

WIWSAll right, dang it, I’ve finally made up my mind to join the fun here.

As the token Old Lady in this link-up (if there is anyone else here over 40, yay!  Leave me a comment and I’ll follow you), there are a few things you might want to know about me.

1.  I’m a slacks-and-sweater type of gal, especially in winter.  When the weather gets warmer I might dig some skirts and dresses out of my closet.  You will likely see repeats of certain articles of clothing.

2.  I take the photos for this meme, at least for now; I’m getting lots of practice taking self-portraits in the mirror.  My head-to-toe photos will usually be, well, head-to-knees or something.  I’m not ready to ask my family to take photos of me every Sunday.  Baby steps.

3.  I won’t promise that I’ll link up here every week; in fact, I probably won’t.  If I do it might get a little boring (see #1).

So, here we go!

IMG_3635

Sweater and scarf:  Target.  Pants:  Don’t remember.

IMG_3636

(See the ring?  That was a Mother’s Day–or was it Valentine’s Day?–gift from Joe years ago.  I never take it off.)

2013-02-03_10-09-36_593

Shoes:  DSW (I shared this photo in a 7 Quick Takes post a while back; today I wore the same shoes AND the same pants.  I promise.)

IMG_3642

Joe brought home the necklace for me just last night.  He has been in Barcelona all week (Boy did I ever want to come; unfortunately he was working like 12 hours a day) for a technology conference, and he had a chance to visit the Sagarada Familia Basilica.  The cross is modeled after the ones atop the spires.

IMAG0046a

(One of the many photos he took with his phone.  Stay tuned for more!)

I thought of something during Mass today.  You know how during the Eucharistic prayer when the priest usually prays for the Pope?  Now that Pope Benedict is retired, Father just skipped that part and went right to the prayer for the Bishop.  I wish he could have prayed for “Benedict, Our Pope Emeritus.”  Would the Church allow priests to do this until a new Pope is elected?  Perhaps I’m just having a hard time accepting the fact that Papa Benny is no longer the Pope.

Have a great week!  Do you think we’ll have a new Pope by next Sunday?  We’ll see!

(See what other ladies are sporting for Mass at Fine Linen and Purple!)

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I Wore Sunday, Volume One

  1. Shannon says:

    Love the boots, and that scarf looks like it would match anything. I’d say lots of the link-up ladies are in our 30s. You might check out Laura at String of Pearls.

  2. Erica S. says:

    Beautiful necklace! I am glad that you decided to link up. It is fun! I am a mom to 3 boys, so I understand the food shoveling (from your “about me”). I will have to come back to read your conversion story when my 3 sons aren’t begging me for dinner. Sheesh! Boys!

  3. momn3boys says:

    Thanks, Shannon and Erica, and thanks for visiting!!

  4. Laura Pearl says:

    Hi! I “met” you already because you stopped by my blog to leave a comment. 🙂

    I’m 54, so you’re not the old lady of the group. (Sometimes when I see all the cute young things doing this WIWS stuff, I wonder if I should even be involved!) We have something else in common: BOYS. I have five sons, all grown (29, 28, 26, 25, and 20).

    Also, it’s funny that you mention BARCELONA in this post, because when I just replied to the comment you left on my WIWS post this week, I told you how I wore my Mootsies Tootsies when I walked all over Barcelona with my husband recently. Weird coincidence.

  5. Laura Pearl says:

    Oh–I forgot to add how much I love your necklace!

    • momn3boys says:

      Thanks, and I never would have guessed you were 54!! Congrats on the birth of your granddaughter! 🙂 I’m following you under my Blogger account (I recently switched to WordPress, and I have another little food blog there that I’ve all but abandoned but am hoping to start updating again at some point). Thanks for stopping by, God bless!

  6. Andrea says:

    Your necklace is really stunning, what a wonderful gift from your husband. 🙂
    Those self-portraits are tricky! I’ve had to do them several weeks, but I usually like them better than when I have a photographer. hahaha

Leave a Reply

