7 Takes, Take 7

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

I started typing the title of this post, “7 Quick Takes Volume 7” and my nerdy self realized that this might be an opportunity for a palindrome.  So without further ado, may I present “7TT7”

(never mind there are only six takes left…)

–2–

I’m reading this book for Lent:

IMG_3523

The book is divided into 40 chapters so you can read one chapter a day for 40 days.  I’m not reading it that way; I read the first eight chapters nonstop because I could hardly put it down.  Shawn Carney and David Bereit start out by telling their stories of how they got involved in the prolife movement, and how 40 Days for Life came into being.  They tell stories of babies that have been saved, volunteers whose lives have changed since praying their first vigil outside an abortion facility, of true miracles they have witnessed.  Every time I pick up the 40 Days for Life book, I’m inspired to do more to help bring abortion to an end.

IMG_3524

I even got a signed copy!  (OK, I got a little over-excited about this–David and Shawn both attend my church, and I see them and their families on a regular basis.  I’ve spoken with them often, and they’re all truly amazing, inspiring people.  So having their signatures in my book doesn’t seem like it should be that big of a deal, should it?  Well, it is.)

I’ve read thirteen chapters so far.  Chapter eleven sent chills down my spine.  If you don’t think abortion is Satan’s work, you’re dead wrong.

–3–

Last Saturday my brother and sister-in-law and our little nephew E. came for a visit.  We haven’t seen them since Christmas.  I just can’t get enough of this little boy, who is growing like a weed and gets cuter by the minute.

IMG_3492

For more cute pictures and video of the sweetest baby on Earth, check out Jenn’s blog, The Cookie Jar Adventures.

–4–

On Ash Wednesday I stopped at the grocery store on the way home from picking up the boys from school.  In the checkout line behind me was a mom whose kids go to the same school, and we chatted for a minute about Lent, and fasting, and how we were both buying our seafood we were preparing for dinner.  She had also bought quite a large bottle of wine.   I eyed it enviously and said, “I gave that up for Lent.”  Her eyes widened and her mouth dropped open.  “YOU’RE CRAZY!!”

Maybe.  But I did NOT give up sweets, which WOULD be nuts.

–5–

What I Wore Sunday

Is this getting tiresome?  It keeps me from wearing the same thing week after week, which is something, I suppose…and it’s kind of fun.

IMG_3495

(Note to self:  When taking a self-portrait, look at the camera, not at your own face.)

Joe gave me the sweater for Valentine’s Day, and the necklace was my wedding present from him 17+ years ago.

IMG_3493 IMG_3494

Shoes:  Famous Footwear.

Socks:  Target.

Pants:  Don’t remember.

Bracelet:  Our local Catholic book store.

IMG_3504

–6–

Moe was in charge of cooking dinner on Wednesday.  He looked through a couple of magazines, and couldn’t find any recipes he wanted to try; but he saw an advertisement that showed pasta with sausage, peppers, and sauce on top.  He decided that’s what he would make.  I got some Mexican chorizo from the butcher and did my best to let him do most of the work on his own (the sauce came from a jar, of course).  He was a little bit grossed out cutting up the raw sausages, but except for that he did a great job.

IMG_3515

We were so eager to eat the final product that I forgot to take a photo of anyone’s plate!   Dinner was a big hit, and there was almost nothing left.

–7–

Here’s something fun the preschool kids did this week:  lion noodle art.

IMG_3510 IMG_3509a

They cut up cooked linguine noodles with scissors (boy did they have a great time with that!) and glued them to a circle for a mane; glued on the eyes and the nose, and drew the mouth.  We used construction paper for these, and the edges curved a little when they dried; perhaps using card stock or cardboard would fix that.  A fun project regardless.

Have a wonderful weekend, and for more Quick Takes, visit Conversion Diary!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Takes, Take 7

  1. Angie says:

    I gave up wine for Lent as well. It’s hard, but not as hard as the year I gave up reading fiction. I read only non-fiction, mainly spiritual and self-help books, and I was all twitchy by the time Easter finally got here.

Leave a Reply

