7 Quick Takes Volume Six

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

What We’re Doing For Lent

I’m giving up alcohol.  My daily routine often includes an afternoon or evening glass of wine (sometimes two if it’s a weekend).  Or I might have a little Bailey’s or limoncello before bed.  I gave up Facebook and Twitter last year, and I was thinking about that for this year but after everything that went down on Monday I decided not to do that.  I might miss something.  I’m going to try and observe a No Media Monday every week, though.  And I’m hoping to catch up on reading the catechism;  back in October I signed up with Flocknote’s “Read the Catechism In a Year,” and I get emails every day with the reading of the day.  This does not automatically mean I read them.  I think I’m at least a month and a half behind.

Joe plans to go to a weekday Mass one day a week.  Last year Larry did it with him, and loved it because they had time to have breakfast at McDonald’s before Joe dropped him off at school.  This year, the boys decided that one night a week, they would prepare dinner for the family.  That will be a penance for me as well, because I’m a control freak when it comes to my kitchen.  I’m excited nonetheless, and I think they are too!

–2–

Did you see any of Pope Benedict’s final public Mass on Ash Wednesday?  I missed it, but I hope I have a chance to to watch it in the near future.  This clip of Papa Benny at the end of the Mass is very moving:

You know that part of the Eucharistic Prayer when the priest says, “we offer this for your servant Benedict our Pope,” or something along those lines?  It occurred to me during Ash Wednesday Mass that we wouldn’t be hearing that much longer.  Unless, of course, the new Pope chooses the name “Benedict XVII.”  Wouldn’t that be something?

–3–

Here’s something easy and fun to make on a weeknight:

Portobello Mushroom Pizza Cups

Remove and discard stems and gills from four large portobello mushrooms, brush caps with olive oil.  Place rounded sides down on a baking pan.  Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 5 minutes.  Combine 1 cup marinara or spaghetti sauce, 1/4 cup each chopped pepperoni and green pepper and 1 1/4 tsp. Italian seasoning.  Spoon filling onto mushrooms.  Sprinkle with 1 cup shredded Italian cheese blend (I just used mozzarella) and 1/4 tsp. Italian seasoning.  Bake for 8-12 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.  Makes 4 servings. (Taste of Home, February/March 2012, p. 50)

IMG_3385

(I left the cheese off of two of them for Moe.  He LOVED them!)

I was getting Taste of Home magazine for a while, but I don’t anymore.  Sadly, I got rid of most of my issues having barely looked at them.  I am so glad I still had this one.  This is definitely a recipe I will make again.  Of course I made more than four of them, and we had a few left over.  Maybe next time I’ll try using cooked sausage instead of pepperoni; or if it’s a Friday during Lent, black olives.

–4–

Last Saturday the boys’ music teacher booked a gig for them at a local restaurant.  Once a month he hosts a “showcase,” where he features some of his students (or former students).   This month the boys got to play five songs, with Larry on vocals, Curly on guitar and vocals, and Moe on the drum.  Moe even got to sing a little backup on one song (“Some Nights” by the band fun.  Did you catch them on the Grammys the other night?  That’s a band I would love to see in concert.)

IMG_3400a  IMG_3396

And Curly got his solo debut!  His instructor said he was so proud of him he nearly cried.

(I have video on my phone–and so does Joe–and maybe this week I’ll get around to downloading it or uploading it or whatever it is I need to do to share it with you here.)

–5–

Remind me to never go on a cruise, ever.

–6–

This story is so sad and heartbreaking.  Jennifer Morbelli was 29 years old, married and pregnant with a baby girl she had already named Madison.  Jennifer and her family were very excited to welcome Baby Madison, until they learned she had physical “anomolies.”  Jennifer was advised to have her child aborted rather than deliver an abnormal baby.  Thirty-three weeks pregnant, she went to Germantown, Maryland where LeRoy Carhart would do the abortion.

I’ll let Jill Stanek tell the rest:

Carhart began the abortion process on Sunday, February 3, in the afternoon, according to sidewalk counselors who maintain a constant presence at the clinic when it is open. They noted Jennifer appeared “very” late-term.

According to those counselors, Sunday is when Carhart kills late-term babies by lethal injection into the heart through the mothers’ abdominal wall.

Jennifer and her family returned on Monday, presumably to begin the labor induction process by insertion of laminaria or prostaglandins to dilate the cervix, and again on Tuesday.

They likely spent each night at a nearby hotel, as is the usual process for a multi-day, late-term abortion at Carhart’s Germantown clinic.

Each day sidewalk counselors noted in real-time annotations that Jennifer appeared more and more pale.

The family returned again on Wednesday, presumably for the delivery of Jennifer’s dead baby Madison, staying nine hours, an extraordinary length of time. They left at 4:35 p.m.

Carhart and his wife Mary Lou left soon afterward. The two typically fly out on Wednesday afternoons to either Indianapolis, Indiana, or BellevueNebraska, to commit abortions on Thursdays. Carhart is what’s known as a “circuit rider” abortionist.

At approximately 5:00 a.m. on Thursday, February 7, Jennifer presented at Shady Grove Adventist Hospital in RockvilleMaryland, which is almost nine miles from Carhart’s clinic.

Family members told hospital personnel they had tried to reach Carhart several times, but he did not return their calls.

At approximately 9:00 a.m. Jennifer coded. She coded a total of six times before she was pronounced dead at about 10:00 a.m.

It was during this time Carhart called the hospital. He never showed up. (read more here)

Now a beautiful young woman and her baby are dead, and Carhart is still making money destroying lives.

There is a 40 Days for Life vigil taking place in front of Carhart’s abortion mill.  “The volunteers in Germantown will have much to pray about over these 40 days,” writes Shawn Carney on today’s 40 Days for Life blog.  “Yet there is always hope.”

(To get involved in a 40 Days for Life campaign in your area, click here.)

–7–

Finally, something fun that made me smile this week:

Have a wonderful weekend, and be sure to visit Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

