7 Quick Takes, Volume 5

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

Larry, our oldest, turned sixteen last month.  It was only yesterday that he was born, it seems; now he’s old enough to drive.  For his birthday, he requested tacos for dinner (click here for a great recipe for taco seasoning that I like to use) and we got a little ice cream cake.

IMG_3028 IMG_3029

I remember when my younger brother turned sixteen.  (We’re talking, what–twenty-five years ago?) He had come down with a bad case of chickenpox.  He was covered from head to toe with itchy red bumps and was miserable.  Of course I, being the smartaleck-y big sister, made him a birthday cake and covered it with white icing and bright red dots.  I wish I had a picture.  I found it extremely amusing.  I don’t think he did.

–2–

Last Saturday Curly and Moe took their test for their black belt in taekwondo.  They will most likely receive their belts in May.  Larry got his black belt last summer, and he took the test as well, as a refresher.  They have all worked very hard to get to where they are, and we are so proud of all of them!

IMG_3284 IMG_3287

(The weekend before the test, they prepared by participating in a forms and sparring competition.  That’s Moe in the left picture, and Curly is the one in blue on the right.)

–3–

A couple of weekends ago, when I made the risotto, we wanted to grill chicken.  (Yes, we grill year round, even when it’s raining or freezing outside.)  I wanted something simple. I pulled this

IMG_0884

off of my shelf (Click here to find out what else we’ve grilled from this cookbook) and found this:

MAHOGANY GLAZE FOR CHICKEN

1/4 cup molasses

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon fresh orange juice

1 teaspoon grated orange zest

Freshly ground pepper (about 1/2 teaspoon)

Combine the ingredients in a small saucepan.  Place over medium heat and bring to a simmer, stirring often.  Simmer for 2 minutes to blend the flavors, stirring often.  Use the glaze immediately, or cover and refrigerate for up to 2 days.

Adapted from Williams-Sonoma’s Essentials of Grilling, p. 172

Technically you’re supposed to grill the chicken (assorted bone-in parts, or a cut up chicken–we used boneless breasts) with mesquite or hickory chips, and it gives specific instructions  for both gas and charcoal grills.  We’ve never tried grilling with wood chips; perhaps we haven’t been brave enough.  We have a regular gas grill; Joe was in charge of the cooking, and he brushed it with the glaze as it cooked.  It was amazing, and perfect with risotto.

IMG_3123IMG_3124

–4–

What I Wore Sunday

IMG_20130203_100721

Sweater:  Old Navy.

Pants:  Don’t remember.  Probably Ross or Marshall’s.

Scarf: Target (where almost all of my scarves come from).

Bracelet: Christ the King Catholic Bookstore (I wish I had a closeup.  It’s one of those wooden ones with an image of Mary on each section.)

Boots:  DSW

2013-02-03_10-09-36_593

(I just bought them last week.  Love!)

While I was waiting for the boys to finish their black belt test, a friend taught me how to tie a scarf this way.

IMG_20130202_163422

Fold the scarf in half, and drape behind your neck, so the loop is on one side and both ends are on the other.  Put one end through the loop, and put the other end through the same loop, in the other direction.

(Hmmm, maybe it’s time for me to join the link-up.  We’ll see.)

–5–

Video of the Week:   Jenn Fulwiler posted this last week for “7 Quick Takes.”  I laughed my head off.  If you or someone you love has a food allergy, gluten intolerance, or some other issue related to food, this video is for you!

–6–

It’s February, and time for me to break out this cup:

IMG_3388 IMG_3390

IMG_3392

My friend Maureen gave it to me when we were co-workers, and I LOVE it.  I only use it in  February, mainly because with the saucer it takes up quite a bit of space in my cabinet, plus when I make a large coffee with my Keurig (my only coffee maker at the moment) it isn’t quite big enough.  I’ll use it for another week or two, and put it away until next year.

–7–

The New Evangelists Monthly newsletter is out, and I think you have another day to submit your favorite Catholic blog post for the month.  There are lots of links to some great stuff!  (I particularly liked this piece about Jedi knights and moral relativism.  And this is the post I submitted.)

AND thanks to my new followers Olivia, Sean, and Cole!

For more Quick Takes, visit Conversion Diary.  Have a wonderful weekend!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Quick Takes, Volume 5

  1. ROFL! My poor gluten-sensitive husband and I howled watching the video, especially since we had quinoa for dinner…..AGAIN!! I still can’t bring myself to joining WIWS although I love dressing up for Mass since it’s a nice change from the nursing scrubs I wear all week. Maybe one day……..thanks for the tip re: New Evangelist Monthly…gonna go check it out and your post. Happy belated b’day, Larry. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

