7 Quick Takes, Volume 4

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

I have a couple of followers!   Thanks to olbourgeois and to Terry, who blogs at 8 Kids and a Business.  (Terry’s blog rocks; check it out!)  Anyone else want to join them?  I’m starting to get some comments too; thanks to everyone who stops by!  (When I started my first blog, Musings of a Catholic Mom, one of my first followers was Patrick Madrid.  I wonder if I can get Patrick to follow this one? *smileyface*)

And I’d love for you to check out what I’ve blogged about this past week:  a lovely church in Pittsburgh; a delicious meal of tilapia and broccoli I prepared; and this year’s March For Life.  I’ve been on a roll since I started blogging here just a month ago; I don’t know how long that will last.  My posts may start to get rather few and far between very soon…

–2–

On Martin Luther King weekend we decided to take the boys to Liberty Mountain for a day of skiing.  It’s about a two-hour drive from us, and Joe and I hadn’t been there since before we had kids.  It’s just over the Pennsylvania border, and to get there, you have to drive through the town of Emmittsburg, Maryland.  Before entering the town, you pass Mount Saint Mary’s University and Seminary. (“That’s where just about all of our priests went to learn to be priests, kids!”)  There’s a sign pointing pilgrims to the Lourdes grotto.  On the right is the National Shrine of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton.  Then you drive through the quaint little town–they even have a coffee shop named “Holy Grounds,”  right next to the Catholic bookstore.  Oh, how I wanted to stop and take a look around!  We said we’d come back someday and stay for the whole weekend.

One of the boys remarked that sure, it might be interesting to come back and visit the shrine or the grotto, and it’s a nice little town and all, but it’s not like anyone famous ever lived here.

Um, how about Elizabeth Ann Seton?  SAINT Elizabeth Ann Seton??

Oh, yeah.

(We like to tease Larry about how he’s going to become a priest someday.  We said, don’t worry; you’ll go to seminary here, and we’ll have plenty of chances to visit you.)

2013-01-20_10-21-45_242

–3–

We finally got some snow!  Not much, but enough to close the schools for a couple of days.

IMG_3147

I was sitting lazily here at my computer around 9 am that Thursday when I heard Curly say, “I think I’ll cook something for breakfast.”  I suggested we cook something together.  Curly made scrambled eggs, and I made cinnamon rolls.

IMG_3186

Cinnamon rolls are easy-peasy:  Just make your favorite biscuit recipe, roll out the dough, brush some melted butter over it, sprinkle it with sugar and cinnamon, roll it up, and slice it.  Bake them however you would your biscuits.  If you want you can make a glaze with powdered sugar and milk, and drizzle that over the rolls while they’re still warm.  A perfect breakfast for a snowy day!

–4–

What I Wore Sunday (this is silly fun)

Jan. 19 (vigil Mass):

IMG_20130127_093439

Sweater and pants:  Macy’s.  I finally used the gift card my brother and sister-in-law gave me for Christmas a year ago.

Scarf:  Charming Charlie’s (gift from my in-laws)

Shoes:  Don’t remember.

Double Chin:  Age

Jan. 27:

2013-01-27_09-40-47_511

Sweater:  Eddie Bauer.  I’ve had it forever.

Pants:  Don’t remember.

Scarf:  Target

Boots:  Famous Footwear

–5–

 At the March for Life we ran into Father Stefan, who was a priest at out parish years ago.  I had a chance to chat with him a little bit, and he asked me if I had ever tried Pinterest.  He said it’s the “new thing” people use these days to help draw visitors to their websites.   He said it’s supposed to be a great way to generate more traffic.  Well, I don’t know about that, but I took his advice and set up a Pinterest page.  (Now if I can figure out how to get more followers on THAT site…)  I’m finding that it’s a fun way to bookmark pages I want to look at or share later.   Now when I’m bookmarking things on my computer, I can put them on Pinterest and other people can see them too. (AND, I can pin some of my own blog posts, which is kinda cool.)  You can check out my Pinterest page here, and Father Stefan’s page here.

–6–

This week at preschool we’ve been focusing on the Letter K.  I thought about making king cake (it’s the perfect time of year for it!) but we decided to give the kids something healthier:  barbecued kale chips.  Your can find the recipe here.

IMG_3357

IMG_3356

The kiddos had a lot of fun helping to make them.  Everyone got a little taste.  Almost all of the kids tried it, and some of them liked it enough to take some home with them (there wasn’t a whole lot left over for that, since I helped myself to quite a few nibbles).  We’re thinking we probably would add more seasoning next time around.

Thank you, Doctor Yum!

–7–

Prolife Video of the Week

From the Susan B. Anthony List:

When people are confronted by the horrific reality of abortion and how it effects individual children, mothers, families, and our communities, they can be swayed. Learn what it means to reclaim the human center of the abortion debate.

On January 15th, Susan B. Anthony List President Marjorie Dannenfelser and VP of Government Affairs Rep. Musgrave were joined by Melissa Ohden, Rebecca Kiessling, Dr. Alveda King, Georgette Forney, Carol Crossed, and Abby Johnson for a discussion on Capitol Hill.

In light of the 40th anniversary of Roe v. Wade, each of the women were asked to tackle the abortion issue from her unique perspective. We examined the impact abortion has on individual children, mothers, and communities — while also focusing on how to successfully defend the pro-life position.

Have a wonderful weekend, and be sure to check out Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes.  GO RAVENS!!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 Quick Takes, Volume 4

  1. Thanks for the mention and for your kind words. I like your pictures for WIWS….nice job.

  2. Martine S. says:

    Stopping in from the link-up!

Leave a Reply

