Life Is Very Good: March For Life, 2013

IMG_3251

The last time I went to the March for Life, I forgot my camera.  I’m happy to say that this year, I brought it.

On Friday morning, Curly and I rose early, bundled up in long underwear and double the socks and layer upon layer of clothing, and headed to our church to board the bus with the youth group for the hour-long trip.

Our first stop was the Patriot Center on the campus of George Mason University in Fairfax, where the Arlington Diocese hosted a youth rally and Mass.

Let me pause and be honest here for just a moment.  I was slightly bummed that we weren’t going to THE Youth Rally, the one at the Verizon Center–where there would be priests and bishops and youth from ALL OVER the country.   Father Leo Patalinghug–aka “The Cooking Priest”–was there in 2011.  For two years I’ve had this fantasy of meeting him at this year’s youth rally, maybe having him hear my confession, and striking up a conversation with him about food.  Heck, even Cardinal Timothy Dolan was supposed to be there this year, darn it!!

IMG_3202

IMG_3209

Of course, THAT rally didn’t have Steve Angrisano to emcee’ the event, Matt Maher to provide wonderful music, or Elizabeth McClung to give an awesome motivational talk.  (I saw snippets of the Verizon Center rally over the weekend on EWTN, and guess what?  OUR rally had much better music.  Ha.)

The best part of the Life Is Very Good youth rally:  The Mass.

IMG_3214

IMG_3217

IMG_3220

IMG_3229

IMG_3231a

During his homily, Bishop Loverde showed everyone a model of what a baby looks like at about 32 weeks (I’m not sure of the exact number), which was right around the age he was when he was born prematurely.  He told the story about how his parents tried to conceive for years, and doctors had told them they would never have children.  When his mother became pregnant, her doctor didn’t believe her at first.  She had a difficult pregnancy and was put on bed rest, and she went into labor two months early.  When he was born the doctors thought he wouldn’t survive, but miraculously, he did.

He also wanted to show the kids that while we work so hard to nurture children born prematurely like he was, and are joyful when these babies survive and thrive, babies like this are being killed every day by abortion.

Next we headed to the Mall in Washington, just as they were finishing up the rally there.  Soon it was time to march!

IMG_3243

(During our brief time on the Mall, we ran into our old friend Father Stefan!)

IMG_3250

IMG_3261

IMG_3264

IMG_3265

IMG_3268

IMG_3282

IMG_3279

It was crowded.  It was cold.  It snowed.  But just like the two other Marches for Life we have participated in, there was a spirit of prayer, unity, and even joy.  We come from all over the country, from different faiths and traditions, and we all have different ways of expressing our support for Life.  (Read Simcha Fisher’s article about how the March for Life is a mishmash of faiths and personalities and prolife groups, not particularly organized; and even though we sometimes disagree on how to stop abortion, we are all marching for one purpose:  To stand up for the most vulnerable in our society, the unborn.)

January 22, 1973 was a dark day in America, but every time I go to a March I have hope that one day we will march to celebrate the day abortion was abolished.

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life Is Very Good: March For Life, 2013

  1. I can’t get enough of the March for Life pictures that bloggers are posting. Thanks for sharing…..I don’t watch much TV so I didn’t know there was a cooking priest. How cool is that!!

  2. momn3boys says:

    Thank you! Father Leo doesn’t really have a TV show per se, he’s been on EWTN and I think a few other places demonstrating his cooking skills. He was on “Throwdown with Bobby Flay” on Food Network a couple of years ago. If you go to http://gracebeforemeals.com/ and click on “EPISODES” you can see videos from his web series.

  3. I’ve never been to the March of Life, but I heard it was amazing! I hope to be able to attend one day.
    By the way, I run a pro-life Facebook page. Would you mind if I shared your picture of the sign that says “Real Men Don’t Run Away” on it? If not, that’s okay!
    Great blog by the way!

  4. momn3boys says:

    Thanks! It’s absolutely fine to share the picture of the sign, thanks for asking! The kids in our youth group noticed it and thought it was great. Can you give me a link to the facebook page? Thanks; have a blessed day!

  5. Number 9 says:

    I love these pictures!!! Thank so much for them. I went to the march for life in 1991 and it was a wonderful experience.

Leave a Reply

