7 Quick Takes, Volume One: The Starting From Scratch Edition

7_quick_takes_sm

–1–

Happy Saturday!  If you found me through Jennifer Fulwiler’s 7 Quick Takes link-up, you might have at some time or another stumbled upon Musings of a Catholic Mom, which is my blog I started four years ago and one I’m having a hard time letting go of.  I recently decided to start blogging over here at WordPress, and (surprisingly) I’m enjoying learning all the little quirks and tricks to making it look the way I want it to; the downside right now is that I’ve only had eight page views, and it’s beginning to dawn on me that because I’m starting from scratch it’s going to take a LOOOONNNNGGG time to build up any kind of readership here.  Not that Musings has a huge audience anyway.  So anyhow, welcome to Eating Slowly (find out why I picked that title here), and I hope you’ll come back to visit me again!

–2–

If you found me through Jen’s blog, then you already know that she needs lots and lots of prayers.  She’s pregnant with (I think) Baby No. 6, and she developed pulmonary embolisms in both lungs.  Right now she is at home recovering while she awaits for the birth of her baby, and she has a long hard road ahead of her.  And today is her birthday, so be sure to pop back by her place and let her know you’re thinking about her!

–3–

I have a few New Blog Resolutions that I hope to keep here:  one is to blog about food more; another is to share more thoughts about my Catholic faith.  Earlier this week I shared a couple of recipes that I prepared for our family on New Year’s Day; you can check those out here.  I have a few more things in mind that I want to post as well when I have a chance; including a delicious chicken dish I made last week, some photos of a beautiful old church we attended last Sunday, and ravings about a marvelous book series I’ve recently become totally hooked on.  I hope you’ll follow me and stay tuned for those (a little word of warning, though–my posting can be quite sporadic.  I hope you’ll bear with me.)

IMG_2995

–4–

There’s a blogger named George who has started a new link-up on his site, Convert Journal.  George is a convert to Catholicism, and for the Year of Faith, he started a new monthly feature called New Evangelists Monthly.  Every month you can pick your favorite “Catholic” post from your own blog,  and link it to the monthly newsletter.  (I think the last day to post this month is today, so you’ll have to hurry.)  Last week I posted my thoughts on the Immaculate Conception that I had shared on Musings of a Catholic Mom.  So check out the New Evangelists; there is some really great stuff there!

New Evangelists Monthly

–5–

I don’t know about you, but I’m still struggling with the concept of “The New Evangelization” and what God might be asking me to do with it.  (The USCCB offers a little bit of insight into what it’s all about, but even that’s a little bit vague.)  And part of me wants to say, aren’t we all just preaching to the choir?  At least that’s how I feel when I post something on my blog or my Facebook page or on Twitter.  Most people who will read the good Catholic material will be faithful Catholics.  I realize, though, that if one person who needs evangelization reads something that inspires or ignites his or her faith, it’s worth the effort.  So I’ll keep doing what I’m doing, try to share my faith by word and example in my day-to-day life (it’s not as easy as it sounds), and hope for the best.  And a little more prayer wouldn’t hurt, either.

–6–

We have most of our Christmas stuff put away now.  This weekend I’m hoping to finally box up all of our cute Christmas mugs and plates and switch them out for our boring everyday year-round ones.  I’m also hoping to get the rest of the Christmas table linens washed and folded and put away for the year–and to finally write all my Christmas thank-you notes before I forget what everyone gave me.

–7–

Thanks for visiting, and I hope you’ll visit me again!  (Don’t forget to follow me–there’s a button on sidebar, see it?)  Have a great weekend, and be sure to stop by Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

About momn3boys

I'm a 40-something mom of three sons. I'm a teacher, lover of the outdoors, and a convert to the Catholic faith. My recent love of running and geocaching inspired me to start my blog, Ramblings of a Runner Cacher. Even though my family doesn't share my love for either of those things, we have A LOT of other things we enjoy together: movies, the beach, skiing, and Indy Car racing to name a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

